3 Ways to Practice Self-Care

Hi, everyone!

During times when I am stressed, I often push my body and mind to the limit. My focus shifts from self-care to accomplishing tasks. Self-care involves exactly that – taking care of yourself. This is achievable using different methods. I’ve decided to highlight three below:

1. Treat yourself 

It is sometimes easy to deprive yourself of the treats you enjoy. During busy university semesters, I am guilty of this. I skimp on those little treats I enjoy – things like Starbucks coffees, manicures, and even sleep. Taking time to indulge in activities you enjoy is one way to care for yourself.

2. Spend time outside 

Fresh air does wonders to clear the mind. There’s something about nature that helps you refocus, recharge, and unwind. Spending time outside is a great way to relax and devote a little time to yourself.

3. Take a break when you need to 

It’s okay to take a break. It may seem impossible with looming deadlines and papers, but it’s important to recognize when you need a break. Sometimes you may feel physical symptoms, or maybe you just feel like you’re burning out. Stress affects everyone differently. Recognizing when a break is necessary is your cue to care for you.

How do you practice self-care? Let me know in the comments below! 

 

 

13 comments

  1. Rosie Culture · April 26

    I try new things! I try to pick up a new hobby or read a new book. My self care usually means I need to relax and change things up a bit.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ema Brewer · April 26

    Loved this! You’ve hit the nail on the head, although I have no issues with the “treat yourself” part 👀😂 I think that maybe, “treat yourself” happens tooooo often xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Libby Sommer · April 26

    great suggestions. many thanks.

    Like

  4. leathehatless · April 27

    Comfort food is also great to relax, it feels so cozy in your tummy. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Loved this! The last point is so true and one I need to practice more!

    Like

  6. shellfish152 · April 27

    I love this! I definitely have been pushing my body lately with finals and this really helped.

    Like

  7. kittyp0p · April 28

    YAS to treating yourself 🙋🏻 I actually made a post (or two) about recently taking more time to work on myself and pamper as well!

    Like

  8. Ella May Garrett · April 29

    I really like this post! When I lived on campus at uni there was loads of wildlife and I used to go for a walk at night (it was super safe there so I didn’t feel nervous!) because it kept me calm and grounded! I loved it xx

    Like

  9. petitechai · April 30

    Exercise! This is one that generally people will hear and ignore, but it really does work for me. It gives you a change of scenery, a challenege, and usually puts me in a good headspace

    Like

  10. luluzayyad · May 2

    Really great post. I definitely agree about going outside 🙂 especially when the weather is nice!

    Like

  11. PhotoBaugh · May 6

    Agreed! Great post. I just wrote about self-card myself. For me that means getting away from the office, getting massages, getting plenty of sleep, and having some fun hobbies – photography, blogging, painting. 🙂

    Like

  12. moviefriq · May 10

    I sing out loud. I dance. I disturb a lot. I watch movies. I eat junks. Anything to shift my focus and relief stress. Nice post dear.

    Like

  13. hmmkiki · May 27

    Cool, I did something on this recently too https://hmmkiki.wordpress.com/2017/05/02/love-thyself/

    Like

Leave a Reply

