Review-Vivid matte liquid lipstick 

First I have to say I am a hardcore Maybelline fan. Really good quality products with greater price tags! But this product was a total FAIL. The color I’m reviewing is the 05 nude flush!


But let’s start with the good stuff!

  • Beautiful, sturdy packaging 
  • Great color selection ( ten honestly lovely shades from nudes to reds and even some extravagant purples)
  • Does not dry your lips at all. On the contrary it’s pretty hydrating!
  • Easy to use applicator that glides on the lips.


Sounds like a dream right? Well… 

  • It does NOT dry matte. No matter how thin of a layer you put , no matter how long you wait it will never be completely matte. (Hence the not drying part). In the end I guess we can’t have the best of both worlds.

  • The color is significantly lighter on the lips and it’s not at all buildable.
  • It transfers like crazy and you’ll have to reapplicate every ten freaking minutes.

Even if I could look away from the fact that it’s not matte the formula is still really bad. I will not be repurchasing!

What is your favorite matte lipstick? Do you have better suggestions?

      39 comments

      1. Mea & katarzyna · May 3, 2016

        Love the shade and how pigmented it is 🙂
        https://clairneriah.com/

        Liked by 2 people

      2. Notes on Pretty · May 3, 2016

        Can’t wait to check it out. Thanks!

        Liked by 2 people

      3. writingsandworship · May 3, 2016

        I had the same reaction to these lippies. The transfer is so bad!

        I really like NYX liquid suede. They actually dry and don’t really transfer! They have a shade close to this call “tea and cookies” 💕

        Liked by 3 people

        • nayardt · May 3, 2016

          Thanks a lot for your comment and recommendation! I’ll be sure to check it out 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

      4. claudiamariefit · May 3, 2016

        I had this one in my hand today while grocery shopping but I didn’t end up buying it…thank god based on your review 🙂

        Thanks love!

        xx

        Liked by 2 people

      5. The Sartorial Coquette · May 3, 2016

        great review! too bad though because the color looks beautiful 😉
        thesartorialcoquette.com
        instagram: the_ch1ara

        Liked by 2 people

      6. kailaoniell · May 3, 2016

        wow thanks for this review! I had been considering buying the whole line to review and now I’m so glad I stumbled upon your post! thanks for the honest review!!
        makeupbykaila.com

        Liked by 2 people

      7. xoedyta · May 3, 2016

        I hope you don’t mind I nominated you for the Liebster Award! Here are the details:

        https://xoedyta.wordpress.com/2016/05/03/liebster-award/

        Liked by 2 people

      8. Sarah · May 4, 2016

        I had the same thoughts about the vivid mattes… totally not matte at all! Also the smell was so terrible… even if they were matte, I wouldn’t have been able to wear them!

        Liked by 2 people

      9. samanthahiew3 · May 4, 2016

        The colour looks gorgeous as a muted rose pink which is perfect for stepping out of winter colours but that’s a shame! Thanks for the early heads up x

        Liked by 2 people

        • nayardt · May 4, 2016

          Yeah I was pretty excited to get it. Huge disappointment!

          Like

      10. saturdayonwednesday · May 4, 2016

        I also found it that brands are trying to sell products claiming they are matte when they aren’t. It’s so weird haha xxx

        Liked by 2 people

      11. Aluminah · May 4, 2016

        I really like the colour,but it’s a shame it does not stay on for long. I have two brands that I really enjoy that have longlasting matte lipsticks( but I would call it a lip tint because of the consistency) – Bourjois and Aura cosmetics. Bourjois one is around 9 pounds and Aura one is 3 (very cheap) 😀

        Liked by 2 people

        • nayardt · May 4, 2016

          I can get my hands only on bourjois unfortunately! Can you tell me the name so I can check it out?

          Like

          • Aluminah · November 6

            Bourjois Velvet Matte 😀

            Like

      12. Lisa Lo Paro · May 5, 2016

        Thanks for the info! It’s a shame this one didn’t live up to the hype.

        Liked by 2 people

        • nayardt · May 8, 2016

          No problem! Yeah I had really high hopes!

          Like

      13. Sheela Goh · June 12, 2016

        I’ve never tried this, being an ardent fan of the entire Nyx line of matte lippies 🙂 as well as those from Anastasia Beverly Hills and Caitlin. I have to say that the one brand I’ll never EVER like is Lip Couture from LA Splash. Damn, that thing stay on, waterproof to the very end. I must have rubbed my lips raw, in spite of using cleansing oils.

        Liked by 1 person

      14. llindaxxo · November 12

        I was also disappointed when I first tried these! I really wanted it to dry matte, but after wearing it a few times, it has become one of my favorites!

        Like

      15. gracefulgreybeauty · November 16

        Amazing review! Such as shame though as the colours look gorgeous!
        I would appreciate it if you could check out my blog GracefulGreyBeauty | Be the most beautiful version of YOURSELF
        https://gracefulgreybeauty.wordpress.com/
        Thanks 💜

        Liked by 1 person

      16. Ellie Biney · December 31

        Thanks for the review on this, it was very helpful. x

        Like

      17. getfreefalling · January 3

        I hate it when matte lipsticks are not actually matte! I discovered the liquid matte lipsticks from sleek a while ago and they are really good. They stay on for like forever but don’t dry your lips.

        Liked by 1 person

        • nayardt · January 3

          Yeah me too! I’ll have to check them out!

          Like

      18. lilymaybeauty · March 27

        Loved this post and it was a really useful review! I may have to go to the shops and pick this up now!
        Lily xx

        Like

      19. atylerslife · April 18

        Again, your pictures are stunning! I’m just curious if you’re doing this in the dorm, how is the lighting so good. The lighting in my dorm makes my pictures look terrible 😦

        Anna Tyler Snell
        atylerslife.com

        Like

      20. 2bloggingchicks24 · April 21

        Thanks for the amazing info on this matte lip subject!! 😃

        Liked by 1 person

      21. 2bloggingchicks24 · April 21

        Also, the matte lip that I’ve found that’s amazing is from Younique! Check them out. It’s a lip stain that’s matte too. AWESOME!!

        Liked by 1 person

      22. pastelpinkplans · May 5

        Hello Hun! I work for Younique and we have amazing lip stains and liquid lipsticks xxx

        Like

      Leave a Reply

      